EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS TRIBUNAL

AWARD

ERT/RN 42/16

Before:

Rashid Hossen	_	President
Vijay Kumar Mohit	_	Member
Rabin Gungoo	_	Member
Renganaden Veeramootoo	_	Member

In the matter of :-

Mr Renganaden Soondrun

Disputant

And

Mauritius Ports Authority

Respondent

The Commission for Conciliation and Mediation referred the present labour dispute to the Tribunal for arbitration in terms of Section 69(7) of the Employment Relations Act 2008, as amended.

Mr V Reddi, of Counsel appeared for the Disputant.

Mrs M J Lau Yuk Poon, Ag Assistant Solicitor General and Mrs D Sewpal, State Counsel appeared for the Respondent.

The point in dispute is:-

"Whether Pilot R. Soondrun shall be granted 3 increments as recommended by the Jobs Evaluation Appeal Committee of April 2011 same as his fellow colleagues who are actually benefitting from those increments."

The Disputant avers that he is a Pilot at the Respondent holding a Master Mariner Class 1 from Australia.

The Respondent is the national port authority set up under the Ports Act 1998 to regulate and control the port sector.

The Disputant was confirmed in his post as Pilot with effect from 1 August 2010.

In or about December 2009, the Respondent recruited external consultants to prepare a comprehensive Human Resources Development Plan and following which the posts of Pilot and Senior Pilot were merged into one grade.

Following an appeal lodged by 3 Pilots the latter were granted 3 increments with effect from 1st January 2010.

The Disputant's case is that there is a significant disparity between his salary and all other Pilots and is moving for an award of 3 increments in his favour.

On the 7th September 2016 both parties informed the Tribunal that an agreement has been reached between them and which reads as follows:-

"The Respondent is agreeable to grant 3 increments to the Disputant with effect from the date of the confirmation of his appointment i.e. 1st of August 2010."

Both parties having moved that the said agreement be made the subject of an award, the Tribunal awards in terms of the agreement.

(Sd) Rashid Hossen (President)

(Sd) Vijay Kumar Mohit (Member)

(Sd) Rabin Gungoo (Member)

(Sd) Renganaden Veeramootoo (Member)

26 September 2016